Last Updated: Nov 23, 2023

All for Japan

Why I Slave Away for This Country

Donny Kimball
5 min readNov 21, 2022

--

An overhead shot of one of the main intersections in Ginza, a place where Donny Kimball is often working for Japan
This story was originally published on donnykimball.com and has been syndicated here on Medium

For the past several years, I’ve always published some random musings on my birthday. Seeing as I am now, as of today, again an older man (37 years old if you’re wondering), I figured that I might as well continue the streak. After all, it has been one insanely eventful year. In fact, the only thing that hasn’t really been happening in the past twelve months is sleep. Whether it be as a freelance digital marketer or as a travel content creator, I’ve put in some really insane hours over these twelve months. Hell, I bet my average day is well over fourteen hours when factoring in location shoots.

A lot of people often ask me why the hell I work so diligently for Japan. To be frank, I don’t know how to answer them. You see, it’s basically self evident to me — Japan is simply a place that I want to give my all to and it almost feels as if I was born to serve it. There is honestly nothing that I would rather do more than to wake up and work my face off for Japan. Yes, the form of that output of that effort does vary from day to day. Sometimes, it is bringing foreign money into Japan through freelance gigs, other times it’s content. At the end of the day though, it’s all work for Japan’s sake.

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/