Last Updated: Sep 8, 2023

Back in Hiroshima

Why You Should Properly Explore the City

Donny Kimball
7 min readJul 7, 2021

--

Hiroshima’s tragic Atomic Bomb Dome during a pleasant summer day

Much like those who call themselves a content traveler in the inbound tourism space, I am no stranger to Hiroshima. Alas, though I’ve been in (and through) the city numerous times, I’ve never really had a chance to savor Hiroshima’s lesser known sides. While I have experienced the tragic Atomic Bomb Dome and the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park, alternative plans and circumstances have always pulled me in another direction. Consequently, I had limited opportunities to investigate what Hiroshima has to offer.

Luckily for you, the reader, I recently had the chance to spend a couple days exploring Hiroshima. Though the purpose of the trip was actually work related, I was able to sneak in a bit of sightseeing between meetings. I also took ample advantage of my evenings which allowed me to sample the throngs of Hiroshima’s bustling culinary and nightlife scenes. Thanks to this hodgepodge of adventures, I now feel that I have a much better grasp of what the city has to offer outside of its World War II legacy.

Hiroshima’s main tourism draw will always remain the Atomic Bomb Dome, Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park, and Miyajima. Nevertheless, endless ventures await those seeking unique experiences. In the following sections, I’ll detail some…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/