Tokyo’s Shibaura Minami Futo Park

Backyard Tourism Vol. 7

Donny Kimball
4 min readAug 27, 2020
An aerial shot of Shibaura Minami Futo Park, Tokyo’s iconic Rainbow and Tokyo Tower

Oh man… It feels like I haven’t penned a piece since Nam or something. The past few weeks are the first time since I started producing content that I’ve allowed myself to fall off the wagon. Lately, my mind has been mired in a maze of conflicting priorities and opinion such that it’s been nigh impossible to discern what it is actually believe. Of course, any confidence in a conclusion has been utterly undermined by the fact that we live now in “interesting times” as per this traditional Chinese curse. Behind me is a pack of hungry wolves and before me is the unknowability of this unprecedented age.

Anyway, while I am not yet up to doing a lengthy exposé on some unknown part of Japan, I do want to take a swing at getting back to weekly writing. Though we may never actually be able to go back to a pre-coronavirus world where people can regularly travel as they did, producing content is rather therapeutic. So, on that note, I’d like to share a spot that I recently stumbled upon during a particularly long walk across Tokyo. Since then, it has become my go-to spot when brooding on solutions to the conundrums of meaning, purpose and life in Japan.

So, without any further ado, allow me to introduce Shibaura Minami Futo Park. Located on the mainland side of Rainbow Bridge, this little slice of heaven is…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/