Japan’s Sex Industry

What Lurks Behind the Dark Side of the Sun

Donny Kimball
15 min readAug 30, 2019
A solar eclipse as a metaphor for Japan’s ubiquitous sex industry.
Warning: This post is NOT safe for work!

“What the HELL am I doing?!?!” I asked myself, looking around at my bizarre surroundings. To my immediate right, a Japanese gentleman was enjoying the sight of his wife or girlfriend pleasuring another man. Deeper into the establishment, a different patron was having her first taste of traditional Japanese rope bondage. Thinking back to how I found myself in one of Tokyo’s underground swingers clubs, it all suddenly came back to me. One night, after having far too many craft beers, a close friend of mine challenged me to do an article about the seedy underbelly of Japan. Seeing as I am adamantly committed to the notion of authenticity, I agreed to take up this call to adventure. Little did I know how far down this rabbit hole would go.

Before getting too deep (heh, no pun intended…) into the many lewd things that I uncovered on my quest to discover Japan’s shadier side, allow me to first get a few disclaimers out of the way. To begin with, know that this post is certainly not safe for work. While I’ll try to keep the imagery on the PG side, the text definitely won’t be something that you’d want to be caught reading on a company computer. Additionally, I also have to note that I am in no way, shape or form endorsing what I’ll cover in this piece…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/