Last Updated: Jan 5, 2023

Deep Okayama

Diving Into the Prefecture’s Endless Sunshine

Donny Kimball
9 min readDec 7, 2018

--

A statue of Momotaro outside of the JR Okayama Station in Okayama Prefecture

Welcome back to yet another one of my area guides where I go irrationally deep on a single location. Today we’ll be taking an exhaustive look at Okayama Prefecture, the so-called “land of sunshine.” This peculiar moniker comes from the fact that Okayama has the lowest recorded rainfall of all the prefectures. Now as those who follow me on social media know, I have a bit of a tumultuous relationship with Okayama. You see, every damn time that I’ve tried to visit the prefecture, it seems almost as if the fates conspire for me to meet my makers. During my very first expedition, I almost drowned in a torrential downpour and then upon my return, left I with a badly broken collarbone and elbow. For such an upbeat and cheerily nicknamed place, my experience has been rather morbid.

My injuries and brushes with death aside though, I must admit that I have a bit of a grim fascination with the “Land of Sunshine” that keeps me wanting to come back for more. Why would I foolishly risk life and limb to return to Okayama? Well, much like those comedic Russian matryoshka dolls, Okayama is a place of layers. The deeper I dig into the prefecture, the more amazing hidden gems I discover. In fact, I’d wager that Okayama is more of a treasure trove of undiscovered…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/