Last Updated: May 25, 2024

Fantastic Fuchu

A Quaint & Quite Picturesque Part of Tokyo

Donny Kimball
6 min readJun 27, 2021

--

The main approach to Fuchu’s Okunitama Shrine in western Tokyo
This story was originally published on donnykimball.com and has been syndicated here on Medium.

Tokyo just never ceases to amaze me. Every time I think that I’ve seen most of the spots that I want to, something new pops up on the proverbial radar. Simply put, this megalopolis is like an onion. Every time you pull back a layer, there’s another one waiting to explore. Case in point, a very close friend of mine (you know who…) recently had driving school in western Tokyo. Following her class, we decided to check out the neighboring area of Fuchu. Lo and behold, I uncovered a treasure trove of yet-to-be-documented attractions during my research for the outing. Who’da thunk it!

On that note, allow me to introduce my latest area guide on the fantastic section of Tokyo that is Fuchu. Located less than an hour from the likes of Shibuya and Shinjuku, this slice of the prefecture strikes the perfect balance between convenience and suburban charm. Though a bedroom community for many people working in Tokyo, Fuchu feels far removed from the hustle and bustle of the city. What’s more, Fuchu also has a long history too. In fact, prior to Tokyo (then called Edo) becoming a political center of power, Fuchu was the capital of the local government for centuries.

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/