Last Updated: Dec 5, 2023

Hang Out in Hamamatsu

Don’t Skip this City in Shizuoka

Donny Kimball
13 min readApr 3, 2022

--

The sun sets over the Hamamatsu City skyline in Shizuoka Prefecture
This story was originally published on donnykimball.com and has been syndicated here on Medium

For a hot minute now, Shizuoka Prefecture’s city of Hamamatsu has been on my bucket list. Though I first got to visit back in 2021 for Tokyo Creative’s #HostTownRelay, I really never had enough time to thoroughly explore all of Hamamatsu. Thankfully, the gods of Japan recently deemed that it was time for me to set things straight and finally see what the city had to offer. For a work assignment, I was tasked with heading down to Hamamatsu to shoot a series of shots for their social media. Seeing as I circled enough locales to source a full area guide, I figured I might as well also recount my adventures here for everyone.

Before we get into the weeds, allow me to first preface the following three-day reminiscence of my time in Hamamatsu by stating that I don’t dare suggest you spend that long in the city. As amazing as Hamamatsu is, there’s so much more of Japan to explore. At most, I’d recommend that you give Hamamatsu a solid day and half. In the upcoming sections, I’ll detail everywhere I went during my trio of days in Hamamatsu. Rather than look to mimic my route, I’d instead encourage you to pick and choose from the attractions that best match with your interests.

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/