Last Updated: Sep 24, 2023

Journey to Mt. Haruna

One of Gunma’s Three Sacred Peaks

Donny Kimball
11 min readJan 16, 2020

--

A statue of a winged tengu in the mountains of Gunma Prefecture near Mt. Haruna

Many moons ago, during my days as a graduate school student, I had a short-lived stint with a dark triad femme fatale by the name of Haruna. Perfectly nailing that impossibly razor-thin line between sexy and insane, this provocative little succubus was the type of seductress that’s utterly irresistible. Despite any and all rational arguments that I could conjure to run for the hills, my moronic younger self was inescapably drawn to this siren like a moth to an open flame. While I’ll spare you the grim details of how it all went to hell in a hand basket, know that my relationship with this highly manipulative lass was just as ill-fated as you’d expect.

While I haven’t run into Haruna since getting death threats from other men she was simultaneously also playing, the name somehow has always continued to captivate my attention. Whenever I come across it, I’d always perk up and zero in on the conversation or text. I guess the scars run deep as they say. Anyway, recently, while doing research for my ever growing bucket list, I stumbled across a site in Gunma called Mt. Haruna. Unable to help myself, I inadvertently started doing some research to see what this place was all about. To my surprise, Mt. Haruna was nothing like the vixen of my past. In fact, as I…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/