Charming Hase-dera

One of Kamakura Many Must-See Temples

Donny Kimball
8 min readJul 1, 2017
The iconic lantern outside of Kamakura’s Hase-dera temple complex

Anyone who follows me on social media knows I am very much a fan of the Shonan area and especially Kamakura. I frequently visited this region over the summer months while continuing my quest to source content for this site as well as other social media channels. As one might expect, I was quite shocked to find yet another location that had exceeded my expectations. Known as Hase-dera, the temple can be found close to the shores of Sagami Bay and Yuigahama beach.

Hase-dera is most famous for its hydrangeas that bloom every May and June during Japan’s rainy season. However, due to their popularity, lines to enter the temple grounds often swell to wait times of up to two hours. This, coupled with the fact that Hase-dera is very much situated along the tourist track, has dissuaded me from venturing past the unremarkable temple gates until now. Yet, much like my experiences viewing Kamakura’s famous giant Buddha statue, I feel the crowds tend to diminish the temple’s aura of spirituality.

Honestly, I had written off the temple somewhere between seeing the busloads of Japanese and Chinese tourists pulling into Hase-dera’s parking lot and its location on the “normal” Kamakura itinerary. Needless to say, when I found myself drifting towards Hase-dera on a drizzly Sunday morning, I was rather surprised to…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/