Hottarakashi Onsen

Blissing Out in Yamanashi Prefecture

Donny Kimball
5 min readMar 5, 2020
A group of men bliss out at Yamanashi Prefecture’s Hottarakashi Onsen while watching Mt. Fuji from the hot spring

Unexplained insomnia made worse by an ever-increasing reliance on alcohol. Incompetence at the workplace. Mounting nihilism over Japan’s apathy towards improvement. The Coronavirus. The past week or so hasn’t exactly been what I would describe as enjoyable. Dangerously teetering on the brink of a total #FuckItAll moment, I knew I needed to unplug from it all or else I’d end up going Chernobyl on some poor 7-Eleven clerk. Normally in these circumstances, I would extradite myself to some godforsaken part of the countryside. Alas, I had foolishly scheduled a physiotherapy appointment for Sunday morning meaning that I would need to find a day-trip solution.

Enter Hottarakashi Onsen to save the day. Located just outside of Yamanashi Prefecture’s capital city of Kofu, this secluded hot spring was just what the doctor ordered. Situated over 700 meters above sea level, Hottarakashi Onsen offers commanding views of the entire Kofu valley basin below (which, by the way, has been authorized as one of Japan’s best three night views). What’s more, you can dreamily gaze out at the ever-majestic Mt. Fuji while soaking away all your worries. While there are no overnight lodgings available at this hot spring, Hottarakashi Onsen easily makes up for it with the views.

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/