How to Visit a Shrine

A Simple Guide to Proper Etiquette

Donny Kimball
7 min readOct 7, 2017
A girl wearing a kimono visits Fushimi Inari Taisha, one of Kyoto’s most iconic Shinto shrines

I visit A LOT of Shinto shrines while gathering content for this blog. From derelict and dilapidated hidden gems to the ultra-famous Fushimi Inari shrine pictured above, I’ve seen all manner of shapes and sizes. After all, visiting a shrine often ranks high on the must-do lists of foreign travelers so it’s only natural that they be a primary focus. In my many years of expeditions though, the one thing that continues to astound me is how few foreigners follow proper etiquette. Whether taking photographs where one shouldn’t to drinking sacred purification water, I’ve seen way too many faux pas to count.

When it comes to the behavior of these offensive guests, I have a confession to make. For some time, I actually felt pretty irritated whenever I witnessed someone defiling proper shrine protocol. While popular with tourists, these settings are religious sites (that are still in use) and deserve to be honored as such. I was dumbfounded as to how there could be such a lapse in respect while traveling in Japan. You wouldn’t barge into a church and start washing your nape with holy water so why do it at a shrine?

After several (possibly intoxicated) sessions bemoaning the lack of manners, the answer eventually dawned on me. Most visitors simply do not know any better! And, to think I had been judging them…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/