Last Updated: Jan 31, 2023

Iwakiyama Shrine

In the Shadow of Aomori’s Mt. Iwaki

Donny Kimball
9 min readJul 1, 2020

--

A komainu lion-dog guards the entrance to Aomori Prefecture’s Iwakiyama Shrine

Note: This article was first written during the early months of the pandemic. The info about the destination is still solid though…

Donny Kimball

“What the hell am I doing?!? This is absolutely crazy…” I thought to myself as I glanced down at the time. It was only 8:00 AM and I had already been traveling on a northward bound bullet train for over 90 minutes. My destination was Aomori Prefecture. Typically, such an adventure would be business as usual for me but this outing was slated to be only a day trip. You see, at the time, the Japanese government had just recently lifted its advisory to avoid crossing prefectural boundaries. Given that I am a Tokyoite (where most of the coronavirus infections were recorded), I figured it best to hold off on doing overnight trips for a little while longer to avoid scaring the locals.

Now, you’re probably wondering what the hell could entice me to spend a lot of money on train fare coupled with a total of two-hundred minutes riding the rails each way. After all, Aomori Prefecture is great and all, but as a day trip? While I’ll admit that my foray into one of my favorite…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/