Last Updated: Mar 20, 2024

Minimalist Travel in Japan

My Insanely Light Packing Tips

Donny Kimball
7 min readMar 20, 2024

--

A tourist in Hida-Takayama is happy that he left his suitcase in a coin locker so that he can more freely more around the historic town.
This story was originally published on donnykimball.com and has been syndicated here on Medium

“Where is your luggage, Donny?” the guide from JTB asked as I exited the airport with nothing in tow. I sighed, knowing that this one was going to need some serious explaining. You see, I had just landed at Kansai International Airport for a six-day trip across most of the region, and all I had with me was a mere backpack. Of course, the query wasn’t one I hadn’t heard before. When you’re an extreme minimalist like myself, people often become rather inquisitive when you rock up with nothing else but a comparatively small rucksack, so I guess you could say I was used to it.

In this guide, I am going to share with you some of my tips and tricks for traveling so light. While I don’t know how feasible these would be elsewhere, I’ve managed to do this style of outing basically anywhere in Japan. In fact, as I am writing this now, I am on a local train headed towards the birthplace of the famed swordsman Miyamoto Musashi. This is the fifth day in a row that I’ve been in Okayama Prefecture, and all I’ve brought with me is a hoodie, two pairs of pants, two pairs of socks and underwear, and two undershirts.

To be frank with you, I really don’t understand how people can enjoy travel when they need to worry about something as bulky as a…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/