Last Updated: Jul 28, 2023

Mie Prefecture

A Once in a Lifetime Journey in Japan

Donny Kimball
20 min readApr 5, 2019

--

The famous Meoto Iwa off of the coast of Mie Prefecture

For the longest time, I have actively asserted that Kanagawa is the most well-rounded of all the prefectures. Between the history of Kamakura, the hot springs and nature of Hakone, and the urban landscape of Yokohama, there’s little that this remarkable region cannot offer. Alas, after spending the better part of three days traversing the lion’s share of Mie Prefecture, I’m obliged to admit that there might be another contender for this title after all. From antediluvian shrines to vistas that seem to be pulled straight from the scenes of Ridley Scott’s Blade Runner, there’s a shocking amount of variety to sample in Mie. While you’re almost guaranteed to be kept alarmingly busy during your stay, a visit to this prefecture is undoubtedly nothing short of a once in a lifetime experience.

Now, as hard as this may be to believe for some of you, until recently I had never set foot in Mie. While the prefecture has long been on my bucket list the whimsical fates just haven’t allowed for it. For one reason or another, things just haven’t worked out. Case in point, though I was selected to be a #VisitMie supporter back in 2018, I embarrassingly had to cancel my trip at the last minute following my grievous injury in Okayama. Thankfully though, the prefectural powers…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/