Last Updated: May 21, 2022

Why I Do What I Do

Explaining My Insane Addiction to Japan

Donny Kimball
4 min readMay 14, 2020

--

Tsutenkaku and the area of Shinsekai in Osaka at night

Strange as this may sound, one of the most difficult challenges I contend with is figuring out how to explain that this site is actually not a real business. As I outlined in my controversial Rejecting My Ikigai piece, I’ve oddly elected to separate that which brings me meaning in purpose from that which pays the bills. In keeping relatively low stress gigs as a freelance marketer, I am better able to promote Japan’s hidden gems. Without needing to worry about finances, I am able to throw money at the problem of low awareness with a reckless abandon. As a result, my content has been able to achieve levels of awareness that local government can only dream of attaining.

Alas, up until this point, I don’t believe I’ve ever divulged why I invest every single expandable yen that I earn into marketing Japan. Put simply, my promotional budget for my own content easily dwarfs that of many of the prefectures. Odd as that may seem at first glance though, you need to understand that I derive great pleasure from visiting and introducing all of these off the beaten path destinations. Moreover, the problem of promoting Japan’s lesser known sides is uniquely suited to a person such as myself. While I’m not the best marketer or writer out there, few with those skills…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/