Last Updated: Jul 10, 2023

The Town of Nagatoro

River Cruises & Shrines Near Chichibu

Donny Kimball
6 min readDec 18, 2021

--

Traditional boats sit on the bank of the Arakawa in Saitama Prefecture’s town of Nagatoro

Japan always manages to surprise me. Every time that I think that I’ve FINALLY crossed an area off of my now 6,000 item-long bucket list, I somehow manage to uncover more allures in the region. For example, I was recently showing a friend around Chichibu in Saitama Prefecture, a locale that I had thought I had completed. While there, we decided to check out neighboring Nagatoro. Now, this is a place that I had long been aware of but had neglected to actually visit. Somehow, I had convinced myself that what I read online about the traditional river cruises was sufficient. Lesson learned I guess…

Since most readers out there probably haven’t heard of Chichibu yet (let alone the town of Nagatoro) allow me to begin this exposé with a very brief introduction. Found in the north-westernmost parts of Saitama Prefecture, this rural pocket is home to an eclectic collection of attractions. Easily ranking as one of my top day trips from Tokyo, Chichibu is a place that I’ve returned to time and time again over the years. From the downtown sections near Seibu-Chichibu Station to the ancient Mitsumine Shrine high up in the mountains, there’s just so much to see and do in this neck of the woods.

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/