Last Updated: Jul 6, 2024

The Nasu Highlands

Tochigi’s Mountainous Hidden Gem

Donny Kimball
10 min readNov 25, 2021

--

The peak of the Nasu area’s Mt. Chausu in Tochigi Prefecture during autumn.
This story was originally published on donnykimball.com and has been syndicated here on Medium.

“What are you doing tomorrow?” I asked. To be honest, it wasn’t really a question but more of a formality. “Ummm—I have…” she retorted before I cut her off with a definitive “You can do that later. We’re going on an adventure!” And that ladies and gentlemen, is how we ended up exploring the area of Nasu in Tochigi Prefecture. Truth be known, Nasu has long been on my bucket list ever since I read this article by my photographer friend Benjamin Beech. With the autumn foliage starting to peak, I knew it was time to finally plan a visit to Nasu up in Tochigi Prefecture.

So, what’s so alluring about Nasu as to warrant an impromptu trip? Well, for starters, the foothills of Nasu’s towering Mt. Chausu are home to a sanctuary known as Nasu Yuzen Shrine that enshrines the god of onsen. Seeing as I am a bit of a hot spring aficionado, this alone was reason enough for me to make a pilgrimage. Of course, seeing as the regional sepulcher enshrines the patron deity of onsen, it should only stand to reason that Nasu also has some killer hot springs to enjoy. Enter Shika-no-Yu, an onsen that was allegedly founded back in the 7th century. If you’re in Nasu, you definitely need to give it a try.

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/