Niigata City & Tsukioka Onsen

See More of the Prefecture

Donny Kimball
8 min readNov 12, 2020
The “Welcome to Niigata” sign in front of Niigata Station

Not too long ago, I was invited up to Niigata for a meeting with the powers that be. The objective of the summit was to discuss how we could assist the prefecture with making the digital leap. Though a producer of many fine products (including some of the best sake in the country), Niigata, like most rural areas, is well behind the curve. Given I know a thing or two about digital marketing, it was a privilege to speak with representatives who could actually effect change for once. Still, despite the fact that I was up in Niigata for work, I simply couldn’t pass on the opportunity for after hours adventures.

While much of my time was dedicated to work related tasks, I somehow eked out half a day’s worth of time to explore Niigata City. Thankfully, my troupe and I also stayed a night at the lovely Tsukioka Onsen which made it a bit more convenient for accomplishing #DonnyThings. Though I definitely would have preferred more time to savor the rustic hot spring town, I did manage to sneak in a stroll between the end of the work day and the drunken revelry that was to follow. All in all, it was a fun few days despite being a work trip.

In the following sections, I’ll highlight the locations I visited and why you, the reader, might want to add them to your Japan itineraries…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/