Last Updated: Jun 18, 2023

The Ogumotori-goe

Freed from My Curse by the Kumano Gods

Donny Kimball
18 min readJun 18, 2023

--

For the past three years, Donny Kimball has struggled with nightly drinking but as managed to overcome it.

“I’m pretty sure that by now, I can hit the age verification button at every convenience store chain with my eyes closed…”

Donny Kimball

Greetings dear readers! In a second, I’ll get to how Kumano Nachi Taisha and the gods of the Kumano region help me overcome my affliction with alcoholism. Before I tackle that though, I need to take a second to set the stage for you and explain how I found myself facing my own potential demise as I attempted to complete the Kumano Kodo’s Ogumotori-goe Pass. Though this article won’t be solely about travel, I’ll try to weave in some useful tactics for those attempting the ancient pilgrimage route.

Unbeknownst to many on the outside, I’ve actually been struggling with an ongoing addiction to alcohol for the past few years. Even back when I was DJing, I was never much of a big drinker (and certainly not one to be imbibing on a random Tuesday or Wednesday evening). Alas, a lot has happened in the past few years. Between going full time freelance and then the pandemic, I somehow found myself cracking open a few cold ones after a long day of working myself to the bone for Japan’ sake.

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/