An Essay On Service

Why I Often Opt to Work for Free

Donny Kimball
7 min readNov 29, 2019
A Shimenawa binds two sacred rocks together in Japan

“I just don’t get it. Why would you be willing to make us a marketing plan but not want to charge anything? What’s actually in it for you?” Sighing, I tried to remember whether it was the third or fourth time that he had uttered some permutation of this line since arriving the day before. I mean, this wasn’t exactly the first flabbergasted consultee that I offered to help pro bono. In fact, similar reactions were starting to get all mixed up in my head. Despite this not being my debut at the proverbial rodeo, I admittedly still cannot formulate a satisfactory response to this common query. There’s just no way that all the people I help for free would be able to understand that I’m actually the one getting the better end of the deal in these arrangements.

Confused already? I guess I really should first begin by providing you with some context so that we’re all on the same page. OG followers will likely know this but for all you new readers, understand that I support myself and fund my travels by working full time at an agency. As I detailed in a rather controversial article titled Rejecting my Ikigai, writing has never been my main shtick and instead I’ve opted to make my money via other means. The rationale behind this seemingly strange decision essentially boils down to not wanting to create an actual business. While I am…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/