Fly Regional Airports

A Rarely Used Japan Travel Hack

Donny Kimball
5 min readFeb 15, 2019
Airline passengers arrive from regional airports to Tokyo’s Haneda International Airport

It was a cold, snowy day in February when it finally hit me. How could I have been so oblivious? After all, it was staring me right in the face all along. You see, oftentimes when traveling, I purposely make many mistakes I suspect overseas visitors will also encounter. By doing so, I can readily address myriad points of confusion in advance which in turn, informs my written guides. Alas, the one thing that I have not been able to replicate first hand is the means by which people enter and leave the country. As a longtime resident of Japan, I had developed blind spots regarding the inevitable necessity tourists require to make their way back to an airport for a return flight home. Talk about being a total nitwit!

On that note, the topic of today’s post will be utilizing regional airports as your entry points within Japan. This rarely used travel hack is the perfect tactic for repeat visitors to the country who are looking to get off the beaten path. Why is flying into regional airports so beneficial you ask? Well, consider this for starters. As a visitor to Japan, you must eventually enter and leave from one of only a handful of international airports. Because of this, the bookends of your adventures are more or less set in stone. For most travelers, these airport locations default to being either Haneda or Narita in Tokyo or…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/