Relaxing in Ryogoku

Experience Sumo & the Edo-Tokyo Museum

Donny Kimball
7 min readOct 12, 2018
Sumo wrestlers get out of a taxi in Tokyo’s Ryogoku area

Welcome back to yet another one of my in-depth area guides. Today, we will be taking a look at a section of Tokyo known as Ryogoku. Home to both the Kokugikan Sumo Arena and the amazing Edo-Tokyo Museum, Ryogoku is one of many places in Tokyo that I have been looking to feature for some time now. Due to putting a higher priority on destinations outside of the capital, unfortunately I haven’t gotten around to sourcing the content for many of these sites just yet. In fact, my bucket list is literally filling up at a faster rate than I can empty it. Luckily for you though, I have recently found my travel plans FUBAR due to back-to-back typhoons so I had to resort to Ryogoku as a backup plan. With only a couple of hours before all hell broke loose, I managed to scrape together enough time to source the follow guide…

OK, so without further adieu, let’s get on with the show. As anyone who has visited can attest, the biggest feature that sets Ryogoku apart from other areas is its ties to sumo. Throughout much of Japanese history, sumo tournaments were held outdoors at shrines and temples. Starting in the late Meiji period (1868–1912) though, these matches were moved indoors and the first permanent sumo arena was built in the Ryogoku area. The current Kokugikan is the fourth incarnation of its kind to take up residence here and…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/