Last Updated: Mar 24, 2024

Okayama’s Saijo Inari

One of Japan’s Top Inari Shrines

Donny Kimball
7 min readMar 24, 2024

--

Along with Toyokawa Inari Temple in Aichi Prefecture, Saijo Inari (最上 稲荷) is one of the most important Inari sanctums in all of Japan. The principal image of worship since ancient times has been Saijoi-kyo-o Daibosatsu (A.K.A Saijo-sama) and also goes by the title of Myokyoji Temple.
This story was originally published on donnykimball.com and has been syndicated here on Medium

For the longest time, I thought that I was cursed by Okayama Prefecture. After all, I had good reason for this belief. Until recently, every single time that I visited the prefecture, Okayama somehow found some way to almost kill me. On my first stint in this part of Japan, it rained so hard that I…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/