The Ballad of Usa Jingu

The Kunisaki Peninsula’s Legacy

Donny Kimball
9 min readJun 26, 2018
The main hall of Oita Prefecture’s Usa Jingu

Ladies and gentlemen, gather ‘round. It’s story time! Today we’ll be taking a look at the long lost history of Oita Prefecture’s Usa Jingu. As far as I can tell, this is the first time the tragic tale of this amazing shrine has even been told in English. The reasons behind this obfuscation will become apparent by the end of the article, but suffice to say, this legend is for the hardcore history nerds out there. If you’re not interested in diving deep down the historical rabbit hole with me, I’m going to be frank and suggest that you check out one of my other articles instead. Don’t worry, you won’t hurt my feelings!

Still with me? Good. Let’s start by reviewing what exactly Usa Jingu is. I’ve briefly introduced this antediluvian shrine before in my area guide to Oita Prefecture yet a review is certainly in order. Simply stated, Usa Jingu is the head shrine of thousands of other establishments across the country that honor the god of war and archery. Known as Hachiman, this deity’s name translates literally to “God of the Eight Banners.” This is in reference to the eight heavenly banners that signaled the birth of the Emperor Ojin who is said to have been deified following his death as the god Hachiman.

What makes this deity so special is that Hachiman is said to be the divine protector of Japan…

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/