Last Updated: Jul 4, 2024

Why I Love Japan

Five Reasons Why You Need to Visit

Donny Kimball
7 min readApr 22, 2021

--

The famed Chureito Pagoda and the ever-majestic Mt. Fuji during winter
This story was originally published on donnykimball.com and has been syndicated here on Medium

One day while I was on the Gram, someone asked me out of the blue why I spend such a staggering amount of money traveling around Japan and promoting my content. This person was a fellow creator here in Tokyo, so I was initially taken aback by their sudden query. I mean, isn’t it blatantly obvious why I am so inescapably addicted to this amazing country? If anything, I am the one who is puzzled why someone wouldn’t want to throw all of their disposable income at exploring Japan. Honestly, what the hell else would I do with it? Let it sit in the bank?

Alas, I guess not everyone out there has drunk as much of the #LoveJapan Kool-Aid as I have yet. While Japan indeed ranks high on travelers’ lists of destinations when this global pandemic is finally over, I don’t think many realize just how special this country really is. I won’t go as far as fully indoctrinating you into the cult; however, I do want to provide you, the reader, with five reasons why I will forever be head over heels in love with exploring a different side of Japan.

So, without further ado…

Reason One: Endless Discovery

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/