Last Updated: May 3, 2023

The Haunts of Yotsuya

Hidden Ghost Tales in Tokyo

Donny Kimball
9 min readDec 23, 2017

--

A woodblock print depicting Oiwa from the Yotsuya Kaidan ghost story

Several astute readers have noticed lately that I have been trying to focus on establishing distinct tourism destinations. While locales such as Kamakura, Hakone, and Nikko linger on the radars of more informed foreign visitors, they are rarely, if ever, done right. Still though, this is a blog about getting off the path and it’s high time that I get back to those roots. On that note, how about a tale of malevolent ghosts and legendary ninja to shake things up?

Today we’re going to be taking a look at the centrally located neighborhood of Yotsuya. Situated in the heart of Tokyo, Yotsuya is home to the prestigious Sophia University where I did my masters degree. Yet despite being in the area every day for my graduate studies, I was completely oblivious to the hidden folk history found along Yotsuya’s backstreets.

Before continuing though, allow me a brief disclaimer. The following tale of ghastly ghouls is not my own original concoction. That credit belongs to the guide Lily Fields of Haunted Tokyo Tours. I unexpectedly stumbled across her ghostly narrative while scanning this article in TimeOut Tokyo. Ever since reading the piece, I knew that I had to do my own take on the itinerary.

How to Get There

--

--

Donny Kimball

I'm a travel writer and freelance digital marketer who blogs about the sides of Japan that you can't find in the mainstream media. https://donnykimball.com/